New Member from North Carolina with a few questions!

Check in here and say hi!

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

Tarheel28

New Member from North Carolina with a few questions!

#1 Post by Tarheel28 » Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:32 am

Hi Everyone,

I'm a new pontoon owner here in Raleigh. I've driven my share over the years but this is my first time owning a boat. We have a 5 year old and 1 year old and are very excited about making a lot of memories with them. We bought a 2011 Manitou Oasis VP Tritoon with a 150hp Yamaha. Love it so far.

The biggest challenges we are working through right now are the cover and parking. Would love to hear from other members about how they solved these.

First issue is the cover. It's a 15-20 minute process and with 2 very small kids it is very challenging. Time is precious with little kids and it's difficult having them wait on the dock while we cover it. So we are weighing the pros and cons to cover vs leave it uncovered. Obviously uncovered would save a lot of time, which means more time on the lake and less stress, but it would also depreciate our asset much quicker. Covering it would protect the boat but would give us less time out on the water and make taking it out much more challenging with the kids. What do you all do? Any suggestions as an alternative? I'd love for it to look this good 10 years from now but more importantly I want to use my time effectively with the kids so we actually use the boat as much as possible. So I'm torn on what to do.

Second issue is the parking. I have about a 25 yard wide canal that leads down our marina where I have to make a 90 degree turn to our slip that we share with another pontoon. It is tight to say the least. I'm getting better at parking it but it's daunting. Any thoughts, other than practice, to make docking it easier? Would an electric troll motor on front help me make a sharp 90 degree turn? Any other suggestions?