We made an Ice Cream Boat....

Post your restoration and rebuild projects here.

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

nicolebentley

We made an Ice Cream Boat....

#1 Post by nicolebentley » Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:37 pm

Hi, I'm a newbie on here, and I came here a while back to get ideas. This board really helped me understand what I was getting into with a pontoon, so Thank You to you all.

I'm a single mom, (age 50 but I act 49.5) & fairly handy with tools. My teen son wanted a pontoon boat for years. He always wanted to operate an ice cream boat on the Intracoastal Waterway where we live in NC. Since he turned 15 this year, it was time for him to get a job, and this is the job he wanted. He showed me he was willing to do the work, so we searched and found the perfect 24' pontoon... an older one with a nearly-new motor. The carpet and canvas top are teal, which worked well for us. We did not find the boat until mid-May, so weren't able to get it ready early in the season. We rushed and got it ready by July. He's now been on the water selling a few weeks, and it's been great.

Down the road, we might be able to do a full reno of the boat... or maybe I'll do that when he's off to college (altho he says he still wants to sell ice cream in summers then... he absolutely loves it! But I thought our quick fixes might interest some people on this board.