lifting stakes

Post your restoration and rebuild projects here.

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

MOHAVEMAN1

lifting stakes

#1 Post by MOHAVEMAN1 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:43 am

Anybody added lifting stakes to pontoons anyone have pics of how and where

ToonGuy

Re: lifting stakes

#2 Post by ToonGuy » Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:42 pm

53POWELL wrote:Anybody added lifting stakes to pontoons anyone have pics of how and where

If you do a search for "LIFTING STRAKES" you will find good info on this subject. There have been a few threads recently and some older ones as well.
Just one boat...after another, after another :-)

MOHAVEMAN1

#3 Post by MOHAVEMAN1 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:24 pm

Thank you very much 53

Bamaman

#4 Post by Bamaman » Fri Jul 10, 2015 3:36 pm

Unless I was a very experienced welder-fabricator, I'd not put strakes on an older boat.

I'd want factory OEM built strakes only--and 150 hp motor. Manufacturers have spent a lot of time engineering strakes for their specific boats.
'12 Bennington 24' SSLX Yamaha 150

MOHAVEMAN1

#5 Post by MOHAVEMAN1 » Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:58 pm

I agree

turbom700

#6 Post by turbom700 » Mon Jul 20, 2015 11:50 am

There not rocket science, you could use 4" alum angle and welded it so the bottom is parrelle to the bottom of the water.

I will say this on a 24' boat you will need a good 150-200hp motor to see the effects, A tri toon helps with this also, they key is you need to get the front of the boat up in order to get the lifting effects of them.

A good welder and attaching them is no big deal, I tig welded mine on and have no leakes the first time around. TIG takes a longer but you have more control over the welds, but just about all pontoon are made with MIG(wife feed).

Luke

#7 Post by Luke » Mon Jul 20, 2015 6:41 pm

turbom700 wrote:There not rocket science, you could use 4" alum angle and welded it so the bottom is parrelle to the bottom of the water.