Adhesive for vinyl to aluminum deck.

Post your restoration and rebuild projects here.

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

Olustee bus

Adhesive for vinyl to aluminum deck.

#1 Post by Olustee bus » Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:41 am

When I go to a forum for advice I try to research the forum for similar questions. I found one for adhesive on aluminum but I did not see any specific recommendation.

I need an adhesive for sheet vinyl to an aluminum deck.

Any suggestions.

Pontoonstuff answered my inquiry but they just suggested 3M - no specific product and I have not found anything.

Steiner

Re: Adhesive for vinyl to aluminum deck.

#2 Post by Steiner » Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:50 am

I have no experience with it but this is sold at at various flooring suppliers:
https://pontoon-depot.com/products/mari ... e491&_ss=r

And "how to" article that is just a cut/paste from the MariDeck installation instructions:
https://pontoon-depot.com/blogs/news/11 ... e491&_ss=r

There is at least one place that has "do not use with our woven or teak flooring" at the bottom of the page for the same adhesive, but that may be specific to their flooring as it probably uses a backing that isn't compatible....the instructions say apply to nonwoven polyester backing. I'm sure the flooring manufacturer has recommendations as well.

I know the adhesive type (water or solvent based) is important because my AquaTread flooring is installed on a wood floor, and there is a small piece of aluminum trim that they covered with the same flooring that covers part of the transom...the flooring is peeling right off the aluminum because I'm sure they used the same glue as on the wood.
2019 G3 SunCatcher V322 SS tritoon, Yamaha F200
2019 F-150 XLT SuperCrew FX4, 3.5L EcoBoost Max Trailer Tow Package

Olustee bus

#3 Post by Olustee bus » Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:33 am