Trailering vs. Valet vs. Slip Rental

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

fergusmj

Trailering vs. Valet vs. Slip Rental

#1 Post by fergusmj » Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:55 am

Hey all,

Planning on using the boat this year on Lake Freeman in Monticello, IN. Anyone have thoughts on what a boat slip with powered lift should run? I have a few options and I'm looking for some input as this is my first time with a boat

1. Inside storage near the lakes. I would call ahead and they would pull my trailer with boat out for me, then I would pickup, and have to take to the slip. Then return and they would put away.
Pros: Cheapest option at around $500 for the summer
Cons: Have to call ahead to get boat out for pickup. Have to take truck and haul boat to ramp and launch everytime. Added cost for driving truck to lake (about 35-40 min)

2. Valet at local marine. I would call ahead and they would have my boat out and in the water for me when I got there. If I wanted to go out early or get back late (outside of their hours), I would have to tie the boat up overnight or they would have to tie it up before they closed for the day
Pros: No hassle of putting boat in water. Can take car to lake
Cons: Approx $1,250 for the boating summer. Boat would be left on the water sometimes depending when I wanted to use it. May not be able to boat if I decide to go last minute and they are closed. Someone else always putting my boat in the water

3. Slip rental. One of the places on the lake just got bought and they are redoing their slip area this year. They are installing 18 powered boat lifts that can be rented. I would have 24/7 access to my boat and it would be up out of the water. They also are going to build decks above each lift that the renters can use as their little patio area.
Pros: No hassle of putting boat in water. Can take car to lake. 24/7 access to boat. In a cove and out of rough water