Help with possible purchase

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

evilstepdad

Help with possible purchase

#1 Post by evilstepdad » Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:56 pm

Hello,

New to the forum and boating so here we go. We are wanting to get a Pontoon boat and set a limit of around $7,500 for getting into our first boat. Boats around here are hard to find and the ones in good shape are pretty high as far as I can tell.

We got a call from someone who told us of some people they know who had some health problems and wanted to get out of their payment on their boat and needed to get $7,800 out of it to pay off the loan. It is a 2005 20' Sweetwater and I do believe it is more of a fishing model as it has the swivel chairs in bow and stearn...is that right? lol please cut me some slack I am new to this.

It has a pop up dressing/porta potty on it, say's he is throwing in a barbecue that hooks on the rail (I guess lol) has stereo, the partial top they all seem to have, a full cover for the boat and a enclosure he had made that covers about half the boat, say's he paid $3,000 for it and never got a chance to use it. Has a live well etc. and I know I am leaving out some things.

Has a 40 horse Yamaha 4 stroke motor and he say's it has about 100 hours on it. Comes with trailer and it looks to be in good shape. We have not seen the boat in person yet but will this coming weekend and he is taking us out in the boat.

I have no pictures but a short video that the friends of the owners who contacted me went over and shot so here it is, can't tell a whole lot but hopefully enough you can tell me if this purchase is a good one or not. If you look at the video the right front part on the pontoon looks to have a small slice in it.

I know the boat will be slow but for now that is good enough for us and maybe someday our kids will want to tube or something but for now it's cruise, fish and relax.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nKvhMhk ... e=youtu.be