Front of your boat ever gone way up?

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

photonfanatic

Front of your boat ever gone way up?

#1 Post by photonfanatic » Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:03 pm

Ever been going across the lake, and the front of your boat starting going up higher than you'd like? I am still learning to be a good boater, but one of my early lessons (say 8 years ago) was that you do NOT under any circumstances, take the boat out on an windy day. Ever. My friend really wanted to take his Champion brand bass boat out on the water on a windy day. I went with him, thinking the guy knew what he was doing. He had been boating all his life, since he was a little kid. I've known him since we were 5. He and his dad were always out on the lake in a fiberglass bass boat.

So to keep it short, at one point when we were on the lake, I was looking nearly straight up at the front of that bass boat. I was even looking over the side at the water, thinking about jumping out. Better that, than to be in that boat when it tipped over backwards. I look over at his face and I see panic. Luckily we didn't capsize. We got back to the dock immediately and our hands were shaking lol. This ever happen to any of you? And how likely is this in a pontoon boat? Seems to me like it may be even easier for this to happen to a pontoon (or a tritoon) since they have that big air gap underneath.

Now every time I see the front of my toon go up a little more than usual, I slow down. And I'm very conscious of wind conditions anytime I want to take the boat out. That experience put the fear of god into me.

steve1313

Re: Front of your boat ever gone way up?

#2 Post by steve1313 » Tue Jun 26, 2018 1:59 am