Help buying trailer

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

mattk22359

Help buying trailer

#1 Post by mattk22359 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:07 pm

I am brand new to pontoon boats and relatively new to boating. We bought a new Sylvan Tritoon last fall (22' Sylvan Mirage 8522 LZ) with a 3/4 center toon and 150hp merc. Given the arrangement we've had in the past with our local marina we thought we'd be fine without the trailer but it looks like its getting to be more trouble than its worth trying to do without. For the most part this will be used twice a year. Once in the fall by the marina to move the boat 10 miles over back roads from our lake to the marina and then when they bring it back again in spring. Other than that the trailer will likely sit in a field and collecting dust and rust. At the moment though I need have some warranty work done and according to the manufacturer transport is entirely on me (which I fully understand). Further, the marinas claim they want it on its own trailer to do the warranty work. Ran into the same thing when moving it to an upholstery shop for custom furniture covers so decided its time to bite the bullet. Just have no idea where to start.

So was hoping to get some help determine how/what to buy. Are all pontoon boat trailers pretty much the same? Are they specific to pontoon boat length/size or will any pontoon trailer work? I had one dealer tell me that the center toon support is just an add on. Can this be added to any pontoon trailer? Any reason not to go used on the trailer and add a center support if needed? I've heard prices ranging from $2500 to $5000 - thats a big range. Thoughts on what to look for/look out for?

Sorry for all the questions. Your help is appreciated.
(p.s. I did try and search for this info)

Thanks,
Matt
-Matt
New Hampshire

22' Sylvan Mirage LZ LES tritoon w/150hp Merc

BobL

Re: Help buying trailer

#2 Post by BobL » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:42 pm