Some basic newbie questions

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

DocPit

Some basic newbie questions

#1 Post by DocPit » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:55 am

I’m thinking about buying a pontoon boat. I have no boating experience at all. Hoping someone can help me get answers to some questions based on preliminary research.

1) I live a half mile from Lake Murray (SC). There are three dealers close-by on the lake. I’m thinking that if any work need be done under warranty, it would be much more convenient to have it done by an establishment that is located nearby. Therefore, I’m thinking I do better to purchase the boat from one of these local establishments. Does that make sense? Or could warranty work be done by any marina, regardless of where I purchased the boat?

2) The vast majority of the time, I would go out alone. I would take the boat out a little way and read or work on a laptop. The boat is primarily a way for me to get out of the office and still be able to work. To that end, I don’t need a boat that can tow skiers at speed. On the other hand, I have very little patience moving at a put-put pace. I love machines, and I do want to have a pleasant experience getting from point A to point B without growing old before I get there. One dealer told me he has a 20’ Bennington tritoon with a 115hp engine that he feels would fit my needs. He says the 115 can power the boat to about 35 mph. For me, 35 mph is slow on the road, but I don’t know how that feels on the water. Can anyone advise me on hp?

3) Is hydraulic steering a major advantage over mechanical steering?

It would be great if I could get some help with these issues. Thanks.

lakerunner
Site Moderator

Re: Some basic newbie questions

#2 Post by lakerunner » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:00 pm