Any such thing as "too much shifting"?

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

DocPit

Any such thing as "too much shifting"?

#1 Post by DocPit » Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:30 am

I'm a newbie, and I'm trying to develop skill in piloting my boat in close quarters, docking, etc. That means being able to make precise adjustments at slow speeds. So, in practicing, I'm constantly shifting from forward to reverse and back. (I always give it a second in neutral.) Does that constant shifting hurt the boat? I have a Bennington 20 SLL with a Yamaha 115 Vmax.

Horsepen

Re: Any such thing as "too much shifting"?

#2 Post by Horsepen » Sat Jul 18, 2020 11:56 am

It hurts it a lot less than crashing into a dock would hurt it.
But seriously, no. I think your delay in neutral is a smart thing to do. And remember the old adage “Never approach something any faster than you are willing to hit it!”

DocPit

#3 Post by DocPit » Sun Jul 19, 2020 7:00 am

Thanks. I have the boat completely encased in bubble wrap until I develop some skills. :biggrin2

ROLAND

#4 Post by ROLAND » Mon Jul 20, 2020 12:12 am

DocPit wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:30 am
I'm a newbie, and I'm trying to develop skill in piloting my boat in close quarters, docking, etc. That means being able to make precise adjustments at slow speeds. So, in practicing, I'm constantly shifting from forward to reverse and back. (I always give it a second in neutral.) Does that constant shifting hurt the boat? I have a Bennington 20 SLL with a Yamaha 115 Vmax.