Anchoring a pontoon boat

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

DocPit

Anchoring a pontoon boat

#1 Post by DocPit » Tue Sep 08, 2020 5:09 pm

I'm a newbie boater. I've watched several YouTube videos about anchoring a pontoon boat. They all secure the anchor line to a cleat, but they never show anyone actually doing that. I have a Bennington 20 SLL. There's very little space around the playpen at the bow. To secure the anchor line to a cleat at the bow, I would need to hold on to the aluminum frame of the boat with one hand and tie a cleat hitch with the other --precarious even in calm water. A guy I met, who has been boating for 45 years, tells me he just ties a hook to the end of his anchor line, then attaches the hook to the eyelet at the tip of his middle pontoon. Seems like a great idea. My only caution is that if I back away in reverse-idle to set the anchor, that may stress the toon and cause problems over time. Any thoughts?

MattGent

Re: Anchoring a pontoon boat

#2 Post by MattGent » Tue Sep 08, 2020 11:16 pm

Eyelet should be fine. Post a picture of it.

Tie the rode to the hook so it won’t chafe. Presume you are talking about day anchoring, not overnight or long periods on a mooring.

steve1313

#3 Post by steve1313 » Wed Sep 09, 2020 2:28 am

Tying off to one of the eyelets on the toon shouldn't be a problem, but the only issue I see with tying a "hook to the end of the anchor line" is that where you tie the anchor line to the boat is going to change based on depth, wind, bottom conditions, etc. If you limit yourself to using the entire length of anchor line, that may not be what you need. Also, if you're deploying the line to it's end and you drop it, you've lost an anchor!

Or you could just use your existing cleat in the corner, and learn how to do this!!!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWYgcgkreoI
Last edited by steve1313 on Wed Sep 09, 2020 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Steve