Pontoon “barge” needed, advice/thoughts appreciated

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

Nan_wpg

Pontoon “barge” needed, advice/thoughts appreciated

#1 Post by Nan_wpg » Mon Oct 05, 2020 8:32 am

Hi guys, I’m excited to be here, and hope to eventually give back as I learn. Until then I need some thoughts, and advice as I’m new to boats and cabins, etc.

So we have recently bought the “family cabin” off mum after dad passed. It’s time that us “youngins” carry the torch. My contribution to the cabin was always grunt work, and general handyman/carpentry stuff.

Dad looked after anything boat and fishing related, and that’s why I’m here, to learn about pontoons, as I believe the pontoon platform makes the most sense for us. Let me explain the “cabin” and its uniqueness, and challenges.

The lake is located right smack in the middle of Canada, and is essentially ‘“boat access”. Everything goes to and from by boat. People, food, 100# propane bottles, building supplies, wood stoves, etc. everything.

We’ve gotten by forever with a 14’ tin boat, but as I get older it’s becoming a hassle to load up into, and out of the tinner. There are now 5 pontoon boats, and 1 pontoon “barge” on our lake. It makes sense. You walk onto the boat, not into.

My options are 1, buy a new “barge” (princecraft voyager, is the only retail “barge” I can find), 2, buy a used pontoon boat, and strip it down/rebuild, 3. Buy a new “kit” and build my own.

There are special considerations to our lake regarding boats, as we can drive out and dump our stuff about 150 from the “launch” (dock in lake that we load up). To get to the launch requires a 150 walk down a path that is maybe 6 feet wide.

Unless you can carry the boat by hand down the path there are two choices:

1. Helicopter
2. Down a hill with an 80 degree drop via manpower/winches. Not for the faint of heart.