positioning on lift

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

JerryTx

positioning on lift

#1 Post by JerryTx » Fri Aug 19, 2022 9:55 am

Howdy Folks,

It's been awhile since on here, and I figured a new topic vs adding it to my handicap thread. We are making progress, kinda working backwards from the water. Had to build a bulkhead, and now our dock is done. I am long distance from project, and sometimes it causes confusion on either end.

I tried searching but did not come up with any good results. We are going to have a ~25ft tritoon, so I told the builder to set for that when installing lift. He finished up, and my neighbor took some pics for me. I had them build a 32' long slip so that everything, including engine, would be covered. Being a dock newbie, I didn't/don't know the correct questions ahead of time sometimes, and this time it bit me on the butt.

The lift is more towards the back and leaves a bunch of space up front. My question for y'all, how much overhang is too much when on lift. I think those bunks are 16' long. My neighbor is standing on the upper level and the poles are different on this side vs the other, only 4 and bigger vs 5 and thinner on the other side. They lined up the two from middle and back, the front poles don't match at all. So it doesn't appear that the lift can be moved, at least w/o great cost, so I will be left with that big front gap.

Since the back end is considerably heavier, is it ok to pull the boat in as far as possible, or is that too much overhang? Any other ideas?

Thanks.
Attachments
boatlift.jpg
boatlift.jpg (1.02 MiB) Viewed 10452 times

Marc K

Re: positioning on lift

#2 Post by Marc K » Fri Aug 19, 2022 11:54 am

Don’t know if this helps. My old boat has full furniture and it is all made from heavy plywood. My small 115 HP motor is the old-style mount with the motor pod/transom being even with both the deck and the pontoons - not extended beyond the stern like modern designs.