Water pump to mount on pontoon?

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

lakejumper

Water pump to mount on pontoon?

#1 Post by lakejumper » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:46 am

Hi folks,

I'm new to pontoon boats and to this site. It's a great forum! I just purchased the boat in my signature and I'm looking for a pump that I can mount to the rear of the portside pontoon to use for pumping raw water for a live baitwell and to use for washdown. The boat has the livewell tank but no pumps. There is a mounting bracket with 3 holes already on the pontoon. I've done searches on the internet and can't find what I am looking for. I have contacted Godfrey Marine and the local dealer and no one has gotten back to me. Any suggestions on what brands to look for would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Lakejumper
2006 Sweetwater 2386 Sport

mike
Site Owner

#2 Post by mike » Mon Jul 23, 2007 6:23 am

I think my livewell pump is made by sureflo...

Check it out HERE
1999 Voyager 21' Express Fish triple toon 115hp Mercury (SOLD)
2004 Ford F150 SuperCrew
Boise Idaho

fishmor

Sorry

#3 Post by fishmor » Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:05 pm

A bilge pump which is also used to supply water for bait tanks doesn't put out enough water or pressure for wash down. What you are looking for to pump water to your bait tank is a bilge pump. I don't know how large your bait tank is or how much over flow it has but you would probably be well served with a 500 gal an hour pump. If you get one that is too large the tank can't drain fast enough to keep it from over flowing. Wash down pumps cost lots more and put out a lot more water and pressure.
"Usefulness is the true test of value"
"You never own anything, it owns you"
"Be Happy and Do Good" Eccls 3:12

Toontroller

#4 Post by Toontroller » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:45 pm